Updated Classroom Blog Assignment

Posted: April 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

Classroom Blogs

Blog 1

                The first blog I visited in the category of classroom blogging was Mr.C’s Class Blog. I have never viewed a classroom blog and I was very impressed. There was a lot of information on his blog which parents and other teachers can view. For instance his blog contained a video recorded by students during the class. You can view the class reflection logs. He uploaded the reflections to the blog for parents to view. I think this is a great way to incorporate classroom interactions with parents at home. Some parents ask what their child learned today. If parents are interested all they have to do is sign on and view the reflections.

                Additionally Mr. C incorporated into his classroom blog communication with grandparents overseas. On the initial page there was a video clip of him Skyping with student Brayden’s grandmother who lives in England. This Skype interaction took place during class. This allowed the students to learn about similarities and differences in the two cultures. I think this is a great way to get the students to communicate with real people who have a real life experience. Some students may not have ever had this experience if it was not for Brayden’s grandmother willingness to communicate via Skype.

                Mr. C also incorporates other links and blogs that the class follows. I really like how he incorporates a PE blog. PE is my content area, and I was curious to how the teacher created this blog. Michael Beringer lays out everything on this blog. He gives a detailed description of what his students are doing in every grade. This is a great idea and I feel I can incorporate this into my classroom.

                Mr. C has incorporated blogging into his classroom which allows parents to view. I also like how he has included additional links to different content areas for students and parents to view. These other links are just as important as his classroom blog.

 

Blog 2

                The second classroom blog I viewed was Ms. Cassidy’s who teaches six year old students. This particular group of students is from Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada. Ms. Cassidy has incorporated her class into a blog. After viewing her blog and comparing it to the previous blog I found it was much more interactive. She has recent posts and videos on the main blog page. She also has a video of her teaching and interacting with her students in a PE lesson.

                I really like how she has incorporated columns with all her students’ names and a link to what they are currently learning on the right hand side of the page. The student’s names are in alphabetical order. Once you choose a student’s name it will take you to their page. For instance, I viewed Adam’s learning. At the top of his page she had fun information about each student like how he enjoys practicing riding his bike with not training wheels. Further down the page you will see his accomplishments throughout the class. I think this is a great idea because it personalizes the blog for the students. I believe personalizing this makes the students feel this portion of the blog is theirs. The entire blog is about the class but it is critical to have a little piece of the blog for each and every student.

                Ms. Cassidy also includes a link to field trips the students have participated in. I viewed the link to the class’ Ice Skating field trip. This link had many pictures and a video clip of the students learning how to ice skate. This is a great link for parents to view and see what their child did on the field trip. This allows the parents to visually see and almost experience the field trip with their child.

                I like the way Ms. Cassidy brings her classroom to parents. I think she has a great system to make the parents have an understanding of what their child is learning in their class. I know when I become a parent I will want to know what my child is learning in their specific classes.

Blog 3

                The third and final blog I viewed in the classroom blogs is written by Ms. Kreuger and is titled Kids with Ideas. This blog is set up similarly to the other two blogs I viewed. The main difference I can see from the first page is the youtube videos that this teacher has posted. It appears this teacher enjoys posting videos about the students and their projects. There are also additional projects they can create on their spare time if they feel free to.

                She also has posted a number of inspirational videos for the students. For example, there is a video of a young man who has overcome his battle with cancer. This is great for the students to see because if they are struggling with something then they can see a success story and get the drive to fight to the end. This teaches the students that determination and perseverance can get you through difficult times.

                Ms. Kreuger also incorporated a link that allows parents to get an update on their child’s progress in the class. Ms. Kreuger assigned students to specific groups and parents can go to the Parents: Exhibition Update link and see the progress and home expectations.

                I believe I can take inspiration from all three of the classroom blogs I previewed and create a great and unique blog for a PE class. I think this would be a great thing to do for the parents to keep them in the loop of what is going on during class. I also think this will allow the students to see their progress with improvements throughout the year.

Leave a Reply

